Out on the Edge

Jaspa – Today’s blog is actually going to be more of a conversation, with my good friend Phyllis Frogses…

Phyllis – Hi everyone!

J – Phyllis and I, together with my brother, Bisckits, recently went to Toronto to do the CN Tower’s newest attraction, the EdgeWalk. For those of you who don’t know, until 2010 the CN Tower was the world’s tallest freestanding structure. The tip of the mast is a staggering 553.33 metres (1815.4 ft) above the ground. (And yes, I am getting my figures from Wikipedia!)

The highest point visitors can visit is the Sky Pod, at 446.5 metres (1,465 ft) above the Earth. But up until recently, it was the glass floor on the lowest level of the main observation pod – a mere 342 metres (1122 ft) up – which had people’s hair standing on end.

P – I remember the first time I visited the CN Tower. It took me ages to pluck up the courage to walk out onto the glass.

J – Me too. Although Bisckits didn’t even hesitate.

P – (laughs) Typical Bisckits. For us normal folk, though, standing on what looks like thin air takes some getting used to. Logically, you know it has to be safe. After all, they wouldn’t allow a glass floor if it wasn’t safe. But as you stand there, staring down between your feet at sidewalks over a third of a kilometre below, a part of your brain keeps telling you this isn’t normal!

Jaspa & Phyllis at the CN Tower

J – I know just what you mean. In fact, I know at the time I Tweeted that we wished we were doing the EdgeWalk, but I have to admit that a big part of me is glad we weren’t able to. It makes the glass floor look like a piece of cake.

P – I agree. Especially after seeing Sue and Shiloh’s photos and video! Bisckits seemed really disappointed though.

J – He’s still sulking about it, actually. But we’re getting a bit ahead of ourselves…

P – I guess we are.

J – So back to the point… The EdgeWalk is part of the main observation pod, and is only (only!) 356 metres (1,168 feet) above the ground. It doesn’t have a glass floor, and is over 90 metres closer to the ground than the Sky Pod. So what’s the big deal, you’re thinking?

P – Yeah, right! The big deal is that the Sky Pod and the glass floor both have something the EdgeWalk doesn’t… Walls!

The EdgeWalk doesn’t even have a railing. It’s a 1.5 metre wide, metal mesh walkway around the OUTSIDE of the Tower, on the roof of the main pod. And Shiloh decided she wanted to do it for her birthday.

(l-r) Shiloh, Kim and Sue hanging out on the EdgeWalk

J – So Sue, of course, jumped at the chance to accompany her. As did Shiloh’s friend, Kim.

P – Hmmm. Funny how none of the boys wanted to do it, isn’t it?

J – I guess we’re not as ‘mentally hilarious’ (as Sue puts it) as the girls. Except for Bisckits, of course. He was well up for it. And since Portia and Gravee definitely aren’t mentally hilarious, I got volunteered to keep him company and out of trouble. I can’t tell you how glad I was when you said you’d come along, too!

P – Happy to help.

J – Unfortunately for Bisckits, when we got to the Tower it quickly became clear that we weren’t going to be able to do the EdgeWalk. The girls were told they couldn’t take anything with them. No cameras. No cell phones. No earrings. And certainly no Ses. They even had to wrap tape around their wedding rings.

P – I suppose anything falling from that height, however small, would hit a passer-by on the ground like a bullet. You can’t be too careful in situations like that, can you?

J – I tried to tell Bisckits that even though the staff wouldn’t be able to actually see us, there was no way Sue and Shiloh could hide the bulge we’d have made in their pockets. It would have simply been too suspicious.

P – Very true.

J – That’s why I decided we should stay on the ground with Rich, Jamie and Lori. I was afraid that if we went up the Tower, Bisckits would be tempted to try to follow Sue and the others out onto the walkway.

P – Really? You think he’d do that?

J – You know how impulsive he gets.

P – I guess… But all joking aside, people doing the EdgeWalk have two safety harnesses. I don’t think they have any safety lines for Ses.

J – Right. And with us being so small, a gust of wind could have us over the edge in a heartbeat. All that would be left of us would be a splash of red jam on the street below!

P – Makes me cold all over just thinking about it!

J – Not Bisckits. He was furious I made him stay at the bottom with us.

P – Is that why he wouldn’t be in the photos Rich took?

J – Uh-huh. But at least Sue and Shiloh enjoyed it.

P – Yeah. Shiloh told me it was incredible. Although, like I said before, I’m not completely convinced. Having seen the video of what they got up to – all that standing with their toes sticking over the edge of the walkway, and leaning backwards and forwards off the edge, out over the city – I’m not sure it’s really my idea of fun.

J – Me neither. Though Sue can’t wait to do it again.

P – Well, she is mentally hilarious, after all!

J – And on that note, that’s probably a good place to wrap it up. All that’s left is for me to say thank you to Phyllis for being my guest today.

P – My pleasure. I hope you’ll invite me to do it again sometime.

Footnotes:

If you don’t know who the Ses are, visit www.jaspasjourney to find out.

You can become fans of Jaspa and Phyllis (and even Rich) on Facebook.

Finally, if you’re linking to this blog via Facebook, please subscribe and ‘Like’ it (or even better, post a comment) on the original blog page, too. Thanks

About Jaspa

Star of my own award-winning adventure novels, Jaspa's Journey. Geocaching addict & F1 fan. Adventure Journeyer & blogger extraordinaire. Check out my website: www.jaspasjourney.com And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Canada, General stuff, Jaspa's Journey, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Out on the Edge

  1. s296 says:

    That’s me!!!! What a fantastic day that was!

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    This is wonderful. Looks like so much fun!!! 🙂 🙂 Just think you all lived to tell about it too!!!

  3. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Crooked and Squiggly Lines | Cee's Photography

  4. Cee Neuner says:

    Congratulations! I have featured and gave you an honorable mention as well a gutsy acknowledgment on your post on Cee’s Fun Foto challenge.
    http://ceenphotography.com/2014/06/17/cees-fun-foto-challenge-crooked-and-squiggly-lines/

  5. Pingback: Cee’s Weekly Wrap Up – June 21, 2014 and The Dump Truck | Cee's Photography

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

