Changing of the seasons

Jaspa – Firstly, an apology: I’m afraid Phyllis is getting ready for an upcoming trip of her own to Scotland (which is kind of apt… read on to discover why) at the moment. But I’m sure she’ll be back blogging with me before you know it!

Secondly, this week’s blog is about where I live, so it’s about time I cleared up exactly where that is!

(left to right) Gravee, Bisckits and me at Edinburgh Castle

Hopefully, everyone knows that I grew up on Africa’s Serengeti Plains. After that, reality and fiction get a little blurred. The Jaspa’s Journey books, as well as my website, jaspasjourney.com, say that I now live in Edinburgh, Scotland. To be honest this is only for dramatic effect, which is writer-speak for “it makes for a good story, but it’s not really true”. In real life, I live with Rich and Sue in Ontario, Canada. (Although I have been to Edinburgh, of course. And it really is where Gravee originally comes from.)

The Grand River near where I live in Autumn

Anyway, here in Ontario, autumn is my favourite time of year. There’s just something really special about the changeability, on all sorts of scales. Obviously, in the grand scheme of things, it’s the changing of the seasons. Summer is coming to a close and winter is on the horizon. And in this part of Canada that represents an extreme change.

Many people who don’t live here think of Canada as a land of ice and snow, but don’t realise how hot and humid summer can be around the Great Lakes. Yes, with the wind-chill factor, winter temperatures where I live can drop well into -30s ºC (-20s ºF), but most people don’t realise that, with the humidex, summer temperatures can exceed 40 ºC (104 ºF) for short periods.

I love this variation. By the time you’re fed up of the snow and cold, summer is just around the corner. And just as you think you’ll melt if there’s one more scorching day, winter shows up to cool things down. And during the relatively brief autumn and spring, there can be a crazy amount of overlap. Quite literally, one day you can be comfortably walking around in shorts and t-shirt, and the next it’s snowing!

Autumn trail near where I live

As I said, my favourite season has to be autumn. It’s neither too hot nor too cold and is the perfect time of year for long walks in the woods. The golds, reds and browns of the leaves– whether they’re still on the trees or forming a carpet on the ground – are simply beautiful. And best of all… there are no irritating bugs about!

 

 

Reminders:

Learn more about Jaspa and his friends at jaspasjourney.com.

 

You can become fans of Jaspa (and even Rich) on Facebook:

Jaspa – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Jaspa/48561121909

Rich – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rich-Meyrick-Fan-Page/49489571289

 

Finally, if you’re linking to this blog via Facebook, please subscribe and ‘Like’ it (or even better, post a comment) on the original blog page, too. Thanks.

About Jaspa

Star of my own award-winning adventure novels, Jaspa's Journey. Geocaching addict & F1 fan. Adventure Journeyer & blogger extraordinaire. Check out my website: www.jaspasjourney.com And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Canada, Environment, General stuff, Jaspa's Journey, Serengeti, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changing of the seasons

  1. s296 says:

    Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!
    In all seriousness, I love the autumn as well when the temperature starts to drop and the colours are fantastic…. but I do love the winter snow!

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

