Baltic Adventures (Part I)

The Norwegian Sun, our home for the first half of our Baltic Adventure.

Journeying is closely linked to travelling, and I’m lucky enough to do more than my fair share. My last big trip was to the Baltic this June, with Rich, Sue, Phyllis and the gang. I’ve been meaning to write something about it ever since we got home, but there’s always been something more topical to grab my attention. This week I decided it’s time to stop putting it off. But I fancy trying something different. So  I thought I’d ‘borrow’ some of Rich’s photos (he’s a bit trigger happy when it comes to his camera, so he won’t notice) and do more of a photo-blog type thing. Let me know if you like it!

Suomenlinna – inside the walls.

The first half of our adventure was a cruise departing from Copenhagen, but on the flight there we had an overnight layover in Helsinki, Finland. From the airport we headed straight downtown, to catch the 15 minute ferry to the spectacular island fortress of Suomenlinna. We spent several hours exploring the fort and then several more just wandering around Helsinki’s beautiful city centre – more hours than we intended in fact, thanks to losing track of time during our introduction to the (almost) midnight sun this far north.

Approaching Suomenlinna Sea Fortress on the ferry from Helsinki.

Me and Phyllis exploring Suomenlinna Sea Fortress.

Helsinki Cathedral – gone 9 p.m. and the Sun isn’t even thinking about setting.

The pretty port of Warnemünde, Germany.

The first port of call on the actual cruise was the surprisingly charming port of Warnemünde in northern Germany. Most of our fellow passengers jumped onto tour buses bound for Berlin. Having spent several days in Germany’s capital less than 6 months earlier, we decided we didn’t want to be stuck on a bus for 150 miles. So instead we hired a car and drove 150 miles to have lunch in Poland, as you do (OK, we might have grabbed a geocache or two while we were there). Our destination was the historic town of Szczecin, where we were lucky enough to discover the annual Festival of the Sea in full swing.

Festival of the Sea in Szczecin, Poland.

With some pals in Szczecin, Poland.

Tallinn has towers, yes indeed!

The ship’s second stop was the incredible medieval city of Tallinn in Estonia. I love walled cities, and this is one of the most picturesque I’ve ever seen. Perhaps second only to Carcassonne in southern France. As is so often the case on my travels, I only wish we could have had longer to explore. As it was, we were among the first down the gangplank in the morning, and only four people boarded the ship after us that evening.

Tallinn Town Hall, Estonia. In the cellar café you can get – and I quote – “Worthy Elk Soup” and (my personal favourite) “Beloved Pies”.

Overlooking Tallinn’s rooftops with Phyllis.

Next stop: St Petersburg…

About Jaspa

Star of my own award-winning adventure novels, Jaspa's Journey. Geocaching addict & F1 fan. Adventure Journeyer & blogger extraordinaire. Check out my website: www.jaspasjourney.com And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Europe, Jaspa's Journey, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Baltic Adventures (Part I)

  1. Shiloh S says:

    Great pictures, great blog! Always enjoy reading about your adventures!

  2. s296 says:

    Makes me feel like it’s time for a new adventure!

  3. Pingback: Baltic Adventures (Part III) | Jaspa's Journal

  4. Pingback: 100, not out! | Jaspa's Journal

  5. Siel says:

    I love your little furry friends! I myself always travel with a small elephant called ‘peanut’. I send pictures of his adventures to my brother! 😀

    • Jaspa says:

      Actually Siel, I am one of the ‘furry friends’! 😉

      I’m the Giraffeses common to all the ‘furry friends’ photos. I’m also the main character in the Jaspa’s Journey books by Rich Meyrick (http://www.jaspasjourney.com/Books.htm). All the associated social media – including this blog, my website (www.jaspasjourney.com), Twitter (@JaspaJ) etc. – are all from my perspective… with a bit of help from Rich working the mouse and keyboard, of course!

  6. Sartenada says:

    Very nice that You have visited Helsinki. Sigh, I guess that You did not have time to explore more of Finland. Happy and safe travels.

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

