100, not out!

I can’t quite believe it. Today marks the 100th edition of Jaspa’s Journal! Today we’re 100, not out!

And I’m just getting into my stride.

I published my first, short blog two and a half years ago, in March 2011. And I have to admit that for the first 18 months or so, I lacked punctuality. Some months I’d post five or six times, and then a few months could go by with nothing.

But about a year ago, I told myself this wasn’t good enough. Since then, I’ve knuckled down and made an effort to write a blog at least once a week. And during my recent travels I’ve tried to upload a post every day or two.

Since I started Jaspa’s Journal, my blogging Journeys have been both literal and literary. If you’ve followed along since the beginning, then together we’ve explored almost 20 countries, spread across four continents. We’ve also travelled through at least a dozen of the 49 US states I’ve visited so far. And even been guests at a wedding in Las Vegas!

Mike and Helen's Las Vegas wedding

Mike and Helen’s Las Vegas wedding

So much for literal Journeys. On a literary front, following the unfortunate closure of my original publisher, we’ve seen Jaspa’s Journey enter the digital age. In  August last year, my blog announced the ebook re-release of Jaspa’s Journey: The Great Migration. A couple of months later the first sequel, Jaspa’s Journey 2: The Pride of London, was officially released (again as an ebook) on this blog. This was preceded a week earlier by an exclusive ‘deleted scene’ that didn’t make it into the final version of the book. And only last month I showed you a rough draft of the cover for the forthcoming Jaspa’s Journey 3: Jaspa’s Waterloo… Look out for more exciting news about this in the coming weeks.

Along the way, I’ve also shared my thoughts on a bunch of other random stuff. For example, I’ve told you about some of my heroes, like Neil Armstrong and Felix Baumgartner. I’ve discussed things that have had a strong impact on me, such as visiting the 9/11 Memorial in New York City and watching the last Space Shuttle flight. And I’ve commented on environmental issues important to me, such as the highway proposed across the Serengeti, which could spell the end of the incredible Great Migration, the backdrop to the first Jaspa’s Journey book.

Witnessing the launch of the Space Shuttle for myself!

Witnessing the launch of the Space Shuttle for myself!

Illustration of the Great Migration route (from Jaspa's Journey: The Great Migration)

Illustration of the Great Migration route (from Jaspa’s Journey: The Great Migration)

It seems fitting that as I reach this blogging milestone, my online responsibilities have ramped up a notch. As I revealed last week, I’ve just become a regular contributor to Bucket List Publications’ online magazine, which has a MUCH larger audience than my humble little blog. I know this will open all sorts of new possibilities in the future.

bucketlistcolourlogo_no-background_4004In the meantime, I’ll continue share my thoughts and dreams here on Jaspa’s Journal. I hope you’ll continue travel along with me!

About Jaspa

Star of my own award-winning adventure novels, Jaspa's Journey. Geocaching addict & F1 fan. Adventure Journeyer & blogger extraordinaire. Check out my website: www.jaspasjourney.com And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Environment, Jaspa's Journey, Publishing, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

