Travel Theme: Brown

I’ve recently come across a great blog called Where’s My Backpack?, which includes a Travel Theme challenge as a weekly feature. Ailsa, the blog’s owner, will post a collection of photos on a particular theme, then invite her readers to follow suit. Ailsa’s challenge this week is… Travel Theme: Brown. So, I thought I’d give it a go!

Aside from the fact that my own coat includes brown, I immediately thought of our Journey through the red-brown desert landscapes of southern Utah this time last year. Then I remembered the amazing slot canyons we climbed through in Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument, and knew they would be perfect!

Here are a couple of photos I didn’t have space for in the post I wrote at the time, Scenic Byways & Slot Canyons. I hope you like them.

The Mars-like landscape of the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument

The Mars-like landscape of the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument

Me (far left, back) and some friends inside Spooky Gulch

Me (far left, back) and some friends inside Spooky Gulch

The layered sandstones of Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument have been eroded by water to form slot canyons like Spooky Gulch

The layered sandstones of Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument have been eroded by water to form slot canyons like Spooky Gulch

A switchback formed by an eddy in Spooky Gulch

A switchback formed by an eddy in Spooky Gulch

Sue demonstrating just how narrow Spooky Gulch is

Sue demonstrating just how narrow Spooky Gulch is

Rich in a tight spot

Rich in a tight spot

Ailsa’s own brown-themed photos included a couple of things that struck a personal chord. The first was a photo of her dog, Sprocket… so here’s a return photo of Rich and Sue’s dog, Marty.

In keeping with the brown theme - Rich and Sue's dog, Marty, who is coincidentally nicknamed, Spooky (sorry the photo is slightly out of focus)

In keeping with the brown theme – Rich and Sue’s dog, Marty, who is coincidentally nicknamed, Spooky (sorry the photo is slightly out of focus)

The second of Ailsa’s photos that grabbed my attention was of the original Winnie-the-Pooh, who she met in New York ‘not long ago’. Which just goes to prove what a small world it is, because I also met Winnie in NYC this summer. He’s currently taking part in the New York Public Library’s exhibition, The ABC of It: Why Children’s Books Matter, which is obviously a theme close to my own heart. My blog A Taste of the Big Apple, includes a bit about my visit to the NYPL.

Me at the NYPL after meeting Winnie-the-Pooh (I love what New Yorkers are reading!)

Me at the NYPL after meeting Winnie-the-Pooh (I love what New Yorkers are reading!)

About Jaspa

Star of my own award-winning adventure novels, Jaspa's Journey. Geocaching addict & F1 fan. Adventure Journeyer & blogger extraordinaire. Check out my website: www.jaspasjourney.com And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Adventure, Jaspa's Journey, Photography, Travel, USA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel Theme: Brown

  1. Amy says:

    That’s spectacular!! I hope to visit the Canyons in the near future.

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

