Travel Theme: Short Layers

So, the two photo/travel themes I’m dealing with this week are ‘Short’ from Where’s My Backpack? and ‘Layers’ from The Daily Post.

In recent weeks, I’ve tried to come up with a range of pictures to illustrate each theme or combination of themes. And as soon as I learned Ailsa’s word of the week this morning, I started (w)racking my brain for ‘Short’-related places I’ve been.

Being only 3½ inches tall myself, I generally feel short no matter where I am. But visiting the redwood forests of Northern California earlier this year took that to a whole new level (no pun intended). So I initially selected several photos from our trip to illustrate this.

Then The Daily Post announced their weekly photo challenge was ‘Layers’. Perfect! Everyone knows that trees have rings, which are just another type of layer. And whole forests also have layers, from the forest floor, through the understorey and canopy, to the emergent layer.

Then I thought, maybe I should go for the ‘less is more’ approach this week, and try summing up all these things in a single photo. Here’s my attempt:

Rich’s Mum dwarfed by the redwoods along the Avenue of the Giants, California

Rich’s Mum dwarfed by the redwoods along the Avenue of the Giants, California

About Jaspa

Star of my own award-winning adventure novels, Jaspa's Journey. Geocaching addict & F1 fan. Adventure Journeyer & blogger extraordinaire. Check out my website: www.jaspasjourney.com And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Adventure, Environment, Jaspa's Journey, Photography, Travel, USA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Travel Theme: Short Layers

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge Layers in Nature | 2013 Weekly Photo Challenge Blog

  2. We love how you combine the two photo challenges & always enjoy your entries!!!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Layers (Liverpool Albert Dock) | What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Layers | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Guess These B&W Layers | Humbled Pie

  6. Pingback: Travel Theme-Short | WoollyMuses

  7. We were in Muir Woods recently. So impressive!!

    janet

  8. Pingback: Layers of nature | Processing the life

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Layers (3) | Through the Eye of Bastet

  10. Always wanted to see the redwoods! Great combination!

  11. Pingback: Woodland Juxtaposed | Jaspa's Journal

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

