Hot Helicopters Over Hawai’i

Today is a big anniversary for me. Ten years ago today I moved to Canada. Since then, I’ve Journeyed to more places than most people get to see in a whole lifetime, something for which I’m very grateful. To celebrate this, over the next few weeks I’m going to recap my first decade of adventures with some of my Top 10s. I hope you’ll come back and join in.

In case you weren’t aware, some my travels in the last 10 years have been of a literary nature, by way of the Jaspa’s Journey adventure novels by Rich Meyrick. Keep your eyes peeled for some exciting news on this front this coming Tuesday!

To be sure, one of the highlights of my real Journeys was my recent visit to Hawaii, my 50th state. What with Christmas and everything, so far I’ve not had chance to post very much about this trip of a lifetime. But I promise that over the coming weeks, in addition to my Top 10 series, I’ll spill all the beans on my Hawaiian escapades. Starting today…

If visiting the state of Hawaii was one of my highlights of the last 10 years, then taking a helicopter flight over an active lava flow in the southern part of the Big Island was the highlight of highlights!

Last minute adjustments, prior to the Beginning of our adventure

Last minute adjustments, prior to the Beginning of our adventure

Paradise Helicopters logoOf the many Helicopter firms available, we went with Paradise Helicopters out of Hilo, and couldn’t have been happier. Despite the flows on the slopes of Kilauea being unusually quiet while we were there (rats!), our pilot, Joyce, still managed to find us some red stuff. And our Doors Off tour, meant we couldn’t have been closer to the action!

Mind the Gap! Our flight was doors off!

Mind the Gap! Our flight was doors off!

Sue's (unnecessarily) worried about the Possibility of falling out!

Sue’s (unnecessarily) worried about the Possibility of falling out!

Looks like rain might be a Possibility

Looks like rain might be a Possibility

The Beginning of the lava flows

The Beginning of the lava flows

Until three months ago, there was a high Possibility of seeing lava flowing into the sea along this coast... I definitely have unfinished business with Paradise Helicopters!

Until three months ago, there was a high Possibility of seeing lava flowing into the sea along this coast… I definitely have unfinished business with Paradise Helicopters!

Possibility of this stretch of road ever being used again?

Possibility of this stretch of road ever being used again?

Beginning to get excited: smoke issuing from Gaps in the surface of the lava flow

Beginning to get excited: smoke issuing from Gaps in the surface of the lava flow

The cooling surface of the lava provides the Possibility for all sorts of strange and tortuous shapes

The cooling surface of the lava provides the Possibility for all sorts of strange and tortuous shapes

A Gap in a volcanic vent means the Possibility of seeing some actual molten lava is Beginning to improve

A Gap in a volcanic vent means the Possibility of seeing molten lava is Beginning to improve

There it is! A Gap in the surface provides my first glimpse of actual molten rock!

There it is! A Gap in the surface provides my first glimpse of actual molten rock!

Where the flowing lava Begins, trees end (in more ways than one)

Where the flowing lava Begins, trees end (in more ways than one)

The Beginnings of more land: lava oozes from Gaps in the surface to form another pool of liquid rock, which rapidly Begins to solidify

The Beginnings of more land: lava oozes from Gaps in the surface to form another pool of liquid rock, which rapidly Begins to solidify

The Possibility of these trees surviving the lava's onslaught isn't looking too great - with the helicopter's doors off, you could smell the burning wood and feel the heat coming from the lava!

The Possibility of these trees surviving the lava’s onslaught isn’t looking too great – with the helicopter’s doors off, you could smell the burning wood and feel the heat coming from the lava!

Back to the Beginning: a Gap in the clouds means our flight ends as it Began, with a rainbow - a full 360 degree rainbow, in fact, which wasn't a Possibility I'd entertained when we took off

Back to the Beginning: a Gap in the clouds means our flight ends as it Began, with a rainbow – a full 360 degree rainbow, in fact, which wasn’t a Possibility I’d entertained when we took off

Today’s pictorial post has been brought to you by the words Gap (thanks to A Word In Your Ear), Beginning (thanks to the Daily Post) and Possibility (thanks to Where’s My Backpack?).

You can also follow my continuing Journeys on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

About Jaspa

Star of my own award-winning adventure novels, Jaspa's Journey. Geocaching addict & F1 fan. Adventure Journeyer & blogger extraordinaire. Check out my website: www.jaspasjourney.com And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Adventure, Environment, Jaspa's Journey, Photography, Review, Travel, USA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Hot Helicopters Over Hawai’i

  1. Amy says:

    Wow, what an adventure! Great photos from the top. I’m so ready for more… 🙂

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Beginning | WoollyMuses

  3. Pingback: The Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning « blogagaini

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning (3: it is a Baby!) | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Fascinating and exciting pix! I can’t believe you came to Canada only 10 years ago.

  6. Rosemarie says:

    Thanks for stopping by and following my blog. I’m checking out your photos. These are great. I am very fond of landscapes and I really love the one of the coastline. I’ve never been to the Big Island, but I did a helicopter tour over Haleakala on Maui. No lava, but still amazing.

    • Jaspa says:

      Thanks Rosemarie! I didn’t do any flying on Maui, but I did get to watch the sunrise from the top of Haleakala. It was breathtaking!

      Keep your eyes peeled for more stories from Hawaii over the next few weeks.

  7. Angeline M says:

    I’ll be waiting for more Hawaii photos!! My husband and I love, love, love Hawaii and try to get over there every couple of years. We’ve been to all the islands except the Big Island.

    • Jaspa says:

      Thanks Angeline. Sitting at home, watching a blizzard out of the window (have a look at the video I just posted on Instagram & Twitter), it’s hard to believe I was in Hawaii only three weeks ago. In our 21 days there, the only island we didn’t make it to was Lanai, although we’ve still got a lot of unfinished business across the whole chain.

      It really is true, what they say about each island having its own character, but for me the Big Island was actually my favourite. So put it at the top of your list for next time!

      I hope you continue to enjoy my blogs about my Hawaiian (and other) adventures!

  8. Pingback: Woodland Juxtaposed | Jaspa's Journal

  9. Pingback: Lava Land: Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii | Jaspa's Journal

  10. Pingback: Kalaupapa Mule Trail, Molokai, Hawaii | Jaspa's Journal

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

