England’s White Horses

Earlier today, I was honoured to discover that Cee has picked me as one of her Featured Bloggers for the Fun Foto Challenge this week, following my post Alaska Orca from last time! Imagine my surprise and joy. Thanks, Cee! It even inspired Rich get off his sickbed (well, couch, actually… it’s just a little cold!) to post a contribution to this week’s challenge. I hope it’s worth it!

For whatever reason, people can’t seem to resist cutting huge designs into the hillsides of Southern England’s chalk downlands. There are human figures and military regimental badges…

Long Man of Wilmington (left) & Cerne Abbas Giant - scans of photos Rich took back in the 1990s with his point-and-shoot film camera

Long Man of Wilmington (left) & Cerne Abbas Giant – dodgy scans of photos Rich took back in the 1990s with his point-and-shoot film camera

… But most abundant are the white horses…

Pewsey White Horse needs a little TLC

Pewsey White Horse needs a little TLC

Hackpen White Horse is quite small

Hackpen White Horse is quite small

Cherhill White Horse in the dawn mist

Cherhill White Horse in the dawn mist

Cherhill White Horse, together with the prehistoric earthwork called  Oldbury Castle and the Lansdowne Monument

Cherhill White Horse, together with the prehistoric earthwork called Oldbury Castle and the Lansdowne Monument

The majority of the horses date from the 1800s right up to the present day. And even the Long Man of Wilmington & Cerne Abbas Giant are now believed to be no older than the 16th Century.

Which means the most famous of the chalk figures, the Uffington White Horse, is also the most authentic. It was first cut by prehistoric peoples approximately 3000 years ago!

Uffington White Horse from a distance

Uffington White Horse from a distance

Uffington White Horse, closer to

Uffington White Horse, closer to

Looking along the Uffington White Horse, with the head just behind me

Looking along the Uffington White Horse, with the head just behind me

I've got my eye on you!

I’ve got my eye on you!

Uffington White Horse from the air (photo from southernoxfordshire.com)

Uffington White Horse from the air (photo from southernoxfordshire.com)

I wonder if they’d consider doing a chalk carving of a Giraffeses? I’d be happy to sit for the artist!

This post is linked to Cee’s Fun Photo Challenge for this week, which is Ground, and also to the current Daily Post photo challenge, Works of Art.

If you enjoyed these incredible giant-sized carvings, why not sign up and follow my continuing Journeys here at Jaspa’s Journal, or through my websiteFacebook, Twitter and Instagram?

And if that’s not enough for you, there are now three Jaspa’s Journey novels to enjoy as ebooks! Perfect for Kids 8 – 80!

Jaspa's Journey Logo (Bigger Bucket)

About Jaspa

Star of my own award-winning adventure novels, Jaspa's Journey. Geocaching addict & F1 fan. Adventure Journeyer & blogger extraordinaire. Check out my website: www.jaspasjourney.com And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Environment, History, Jaspa's Journey, Photography, Travel, United Kingdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to England’s White Horses

  1. This is so fascinating, we got to see two of them when we went on a day trip to Stonehenge. Lovely photos really makes us want to go back to visit England!

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Beautiful countryside and oh so wonderful for this week’s theme.

  3. Angelia Sims says:

    Those carvings are so cool! And very unique. I haven’t seen anything like this. Wonderful share for themes.

  4. kerlund74 says:

    I never seen this before, really cool. Truly artistic!

  5. goannasnake says:

    Thank you. I’ve seen the Long Man of Wilmington, Cherhill and the one that will always be my favourite – Uffington. A lovely walk up to it too. Have you seen the Rising Sun Badge at Codford, originally created by Australian soldiers during WWI?

    • Jaspa says:

      I haven’t seen the ANZAC Badge at Codford, but it looks cool. Thanks for introducing me to it. I’ll have to try and get there next time I’m in the UK.

  6. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge-Dirt-Rocks-Sand-Trails | WoollyMuses

  7. Amy says:

    I have never seen these before… what a magnificent post! The last one is awesome!

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

