NYC Water Towers

Water is the lifeblood of any city. It’s a means of transportation, trade and defence. Yet in modern cities the more literal sense of this statement is often forgotten. I mean, how many people even notice the countless water towers that festoon the roofs of Manhattan, enabling water to be carried to skyscrapers’ inhabitants?

IMG_1426 IMG_1427 IMG_1428 IMG_9915This Friday’s photo themes are Cities (from Ailsa of Where’s My Backpack?), Water (from Cee of Cee’s Photography) and Carry (from Sue of A Word In Your Ear). I’m also citing Unseen, for this week’s A to Z Challenge letter, which is ‘U’.

While you’re considering these unsung heroes of the modern city, why not sign up and follow my continuing Journeys here at Jaspa’s Journal, or through my websiteFacebook, Twitter and Instagram?

And if that’s not enough for you, there are now three Jaspa’s Journey novels to enjoy as ebooks! Perfect for Kids 8 – 80!

Jaspa's Journey Logo (Bigger Bucket)

About Jaspa

Star of my own award-winning adventure novels, Jaspa's Journey. Geocaching addict & F1 fan. Adventure Journeyer & blogger extraordinaire. Check out my website: www.jaspasjourney.com And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in History, Photography, Travel, USA and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to NYC Water Towers

  1. sueslaght says:

    Like a community of water towers !

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Cool twist on water. Love the photos. Thanks for playing.

  3. Kongo says:

    I’ve always enjoyed looking at the water towers in New York.

  4. Pingback: Travel Theme-Cities | WoollyMuses

  5. bedlm says:

    I never noticed them but then again my trip to NYC was a whirlwind tour on a Sunday afternoon. I want to go back some day soon and I will pay more attention to the water towers.

  6. Pingback: 5-31-14 Weekly Photo Travel Theme Challenge: Split-Second City Story (South Bronx Edition) | The Quotidian Hudson

  7. Love the water towers in NYC, but I don’t tend to focus the lens on them. Well done!

  8. I like that you chose a very specific subject for the post. you got some great shots!

  9. frizztext says:

    unsung roof top heroes!

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

