Zipping Around The World

The first time I went ziplining was with Ziptrek Tours in Whistler, British Columbia, in 2008. It was a spontaneous decision, and one I wasn’t completely sure about!

I have to admit to feeling a little nervous as we headed up the track towards the first line. After all, we were about to whizz back and forth between Whistler and Blackcomb Mountains, hanging beneath a steel cable goodness knows how many feet in the air. And I’m not really very good with heights.

Sue experiencing ziplining for the first time in Whistler (May, 2008)  - notice the snow on the ground!!

Sue experiencing ziplining for the first time in Whistler (May, 2008)
– notice the snow on the ground!!

Oh, who am I kidding? I was terrified!

But as soon as we left that first platform and soared out over the trees, I knew I was hooked. It was so exhilarating!

My enthusiasm wasn’t even dampened when Rich, with whom I was riding, didn’t quite make it all the way across on the longest run (which is perfectly normal, I’m told). As we dangled above the middle of the valley, waiting for one of the guides to come and tow us to the landing stage, I remember just laughing.

Sue on the longest run (at the time, at least) between Blackcomb and Whistler Mountains (May, 2008)

Sue on the longest run (at the time, at least) between Blackcomb and Whistler Mountains (May, 2008)

Since then, we try to go ziplining as often as possible. So far we’ve done it in Mexico, Jamaica, Puerto Rico and Hawaii. Each time was thrilling, and each time was unique.

At Selvatica Adventure Kingdom in Mexico, we got to break for ourselves, using thick leather gloves. OK, so Sue did the breaking for me, since my arms are a bit short for that sort of thing. To be honest, I’d probably fit in one finger of the gloves they use!

Rich hanging out upside-down at Selvatica (April, 2011)

Rich hanging out upside-down at Selvatica (April, 2011)

Anyway, after the main part of the tour was over, we got to zipline out over a cenote and drop into the cool refreshing water below. Fantastic! (See Mexican Underworld for the whole story.)

Sue about to take the plunge (April, 2011) - no snow here, thank goodness!

Sue about to take the plunge (April, 2011)
– no snow here, thank goodness!

In Jamaica, Chukka Tours kept everything typically laid back. Even barrelling through the trees on a zipline. Just as you’d expect, Mon.

While in Puerto Rico last year, we got to ride La Bestia! (The Beast!) at Toro Verde Adventure Park. This is the longest and most exciting zipline I’ve done so far. It’s 4745 feet long, up to 900 feet above the ground, and reaches speeds of around 60 mph. And all this is done Superman-style! (See Taming The Beast! for the full story of my day at Toro Verde.)

About to ride The Beast! at Torro Verde (March, 2013)

About to ride The Beast! at Torro Verde (March, 2013)

Is it a bird?  Is it a plane?

Is it a bird?
Is it a plane?

Is it Superman?!

Is it Superman?!

In Hawaii, I ziplined above a waterfall! Sue and I enjoyed our time at the Umauma Experience. Unfortunately though, Rich was sick that day and unable to join us, which took a bit of the shine off the day for us.

Ziplining at Umauma Falls (photo from www.umaumaexperience.com)

Ziplining at Umauma Falls (photo from http://www.umaumaexperience.com)

That being said, with our return to the Caribbean next month, hopefully we’ll all be able to get back on the ziplining horse! I can’t wait!

If you too like the thought of zipping through the air suspended below a cable, why not sign up and follow my continuing Journeys here at Jaspa’s Journal (on WordPress or Bloglovin’), or through my website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Tumblr?

And if that’s not enough for you, there are now three Jaspa’s Journey novels to enjoy as ebooks! Perfect for Kids 8 – 80!

Jaspa's Journey Logo (Bigger Bucket)This post is based on an article called Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah I originally wrote as a featured blogger on Bucket List Publications in 2013.

About Jaspa

Star of my own award-winning adventure novels, Jaspa's Journey. Geocaching addict & F1 fan. Adventure Journeyer & blogger extraordinaire. Check out my website: www.jaspasjourney.com And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Adventure, Canada, Caribbean, Jaspa's Journey, Mexico, Photography, Travel, USA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Zipping Around The World

  1. JF says:

    I wanted to try it on the Labor Day but we had to wait 3 hours. So we tried a restaurant nearby!

  2. Amy says:

    Impressive, Jaspa!!!

  3. Oh you are one might brave giraffe 🙂

  4. Pingback: Going Loco at Brandywine Falls, British Columbia | Jaspa's Journal

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

