On the Grid at the Indy 500!!!

When watching motor races, I’m always envious of those people who get onto the grid before the start
of the race. Well, on this day last year at the Indy 500, I became one of those people!
I wonder if I can pull it off again today?!

Jaspa's Journal

The Indy 500 is one of the most famous car races in the world, right up there with the Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix and the 24 Hours of Le Mans. For a long time now, I’ve wanted to see all three of these classics. This past weekend, I crossed the first of them off my Bucket List, when I attended the 99th Indy 500 at Indianapolis.

DSC_0099In addition to an absolutely nail-biting race, I got a whole lot more than I bargained for…

But let’s start at the beginning.

On Friday, Carb Day, we attended the final practice session before the big race. My perspective for the action looked something like this:

DSC_0108Even with binoculars, this was the best view I could get of the pit complex:

DSC_0100But following the Indy Lights Freedom 100 race, I got a whole lot closer to the action.

We started in…

View original post 680 more words

About Jaspa

Star of my own award-winning adventure novels, Jaspa's Journey. Geocaching addict & F1 fan. Adventure Journeyer & blogger extraordinaire. Check out my website: www.jaspasjourney.com And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the Grid at the Indy 500!!!

  1. Jude says:

    Sounds like a fabulous day, and you got some excellent pics! I’ve made it to the British Grand Prix twice, many years ago – what an amazing atmosphere. Nigel Mansell won on one of those occasions. If you’re into motorcycle racing then the most exciting racing ever is on this week – the TT on the Isle of Mann.

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

