Too Many Hats!

I’ve worn quite a few hats, careerwise, over the years. Some of them fitted perfectly, others not so well.

Hat #1: Scientist

If you’ve read some of my previous blogs, you’ll probably be aware that my first career was as a scientist, researching environmental change. I loved wearing this hat!

In my office in at the Forschungsstation für Quartärpaläontologie (Research Station for Quaternary Palaeontology) in Weimar, Germany in 2002 (photo: Michael Stache)

Hat #2: Writer

Shortly after moving to Canada, I exchanged my scientist’s hat for that of a fiction writer, when I began my Jaspa’s Journey series. I love wearing this hat, too.

In all honesty, I’ve never actually thrown away my scientist’s hat, and on some level, I still consider myself a scientist. In fact, I continue to introduce as much environmental, geographical and historical information into my books as I can, as a way of staying true to my former vocation.

The launch of the first Jaspa’s Journey novel in 2009 (photo: Rich Meyrick)

Hat #3: Marketer

The original publisher of Jaspa’s Journey was DreamCatcher, a small independent Canadian company. When DreamCatcher sadly closed, I was lucky enough to find a new home for Jaspa at Speaking Volumes, a similarly independent publishing firm, this time based in New Mexico, USA.

It should go without saying that neither DreamCatcher nor Speaking Volumes had/have the promotional budget of a major household-name publisher. As a result, most marketing of Jaspa’s Journey has always primarily fallen on my shoulders.

Setting up stall at the Kitchener Museum Christmas Market in 2022 (photo: Rich Meyrick)

I have to confess that of these three hats, the one I find most uncomfortable remains that of Marketer. It’s been almost 15 years since Jaspa’s Journey: The Great Migration was first published, and I feel I don’t understand marketing any better today than I did back then. So, if anyone has any suggestions!…

The above post is taken from this month’s Fiction Meets Fact Newsletter. To receive future newsletters in their entirety (together with a Free Jaspa’s Journey Booklet including the short story Freefall over London and Jaspa’s Journey images to colour), click on the image below.

Upper middle grade readers can now travel the World with Jaspa’s Journey adventure novels! The first four – The Great Migration, The Pride of London, Jaspa’s Waterloo, and The Hermit of Kennecott – are now available in both paperback and ebook formats. Click here for more information.

About Jaspa

Jaspa's Journey is a series of award-winning, travel-based adventure novels for strong middle grade readers by Rich Meyrick. Join the Adventure! Read the books! Follow Jaspa’s ongoing Journeys at www.jaspasjourney.com. Let's explore this amazing world together! And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Adventure, Environment, Publishing, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.