The Albatross At The End Of The World

A month ago, I was lucky enough to tick a huge item off my Bucket List… seeing Cape Horn from a ship (full post to follow). My revised Bucket List now includes going one step further (pun intended) and setting foot on the island.

Cape Horn at dawn

Cape Horn at dawn

One of the things I want to see is the Albatross Memorial to all the sailors who have lost their lives off Cape Horn. Near the monument is a moving verse written by Chilean poet Sara Vial. In English it reads (translation taken from a blog by Annika S. Hipple):

I am the albatross that awaits you

at the end of the world.

I am the forgotten soul of the dead mariners

who passed Cape Horn

from all the seas of the world.

But they did not die

in the furious waves.

Today they soar on my wings

towards eternity

in the last crack

of the Antarctic winds.

The Albatross Memorial on Cape Horn (next time I want to touch it!)

The Albatross Memorial on Cape Horn (next time I want to touch it!)

The day after Cape Horn we were supposed to call in at the Falkland Islands. Sadly, the forecast of strong winds later in the day made the captain decide he couldn’t risk stranding us on the islands (not that I think most of us would have minded!).

Understandably, we were extremely disappointed that our visit to the Falklands amounted to a glimpse of East Falkland through the dawn mist.

East Falkland through the early morning mist

East Falkland through the early morning mist

But later that morning came the silver lining: the privilege of witnessing graceful albatrosses gliding across the surface of the South Atlantic.

DSC_5182 DSC_5224 DSC_5223 DSC_5221 DSC_5220 DSC_5215 DSC_5213 DSC_5208 DSC_5204 DSC_5203 DSC_5199 DSC_5198 DSC_5197It really was magical.

DSC_5206 DSC_5216 DSC_5226This post was inspired by this week’s photo challenges Half-Light from Krista of The Daily Post, and Physical Phenomenon from Paula of Lost in Translation.

If you’re the sort of person that loves experiencing the wonders of nature on your travels, why not sign up and follow my continuing Journeys here at Jaspa’s Journal (on WordPress or Bloglovin’), or through my website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Tumblr?

And if that’s not enough for you, the first three Jaspa’s Journey novels will soon be available to enjoy, both as ebooks and in paperback! Perfect for Kids 8 – 80!

Jaspa's Journey Logo (Bigger Bucket)

About Jaspa

Jaspa's Journey is a series of award-winning, travel-based adventure novels for strong middle grade readers by Rich Meyrick. Join the Adventure! Read the books! Follow Jaspa’s ongoing Journeys at www.jaspasjourney.com. Let's explore this amazing world together! And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Adventure, Environment, Jaspa's Journey, Photography, South America, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Albatross At The End Of The World

  1. Jude says:

    Lovely post, great pics and wonderful poem, and it all blended so well.

  2. Pingback: Half-Light (Early Morning B4 Shopping) | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Love the albatross pics,Rich. But the trouble with albatrosses is I can’t think of them without thinking of Monty Python.

  4. Paula says:

    As I was looking at these I thought “magical” and then I saw your words. I would have been here sooner, but I took a break. Thank you, Jaspa.

  5. Pingback: Thursday’s Special: Physical Phenomenon | Lost in Translation

  6. Pingback: Dawn at Cape Horn | Jaspa's Journal

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.