The Most Redundant Sign In The World?

This week’s photo themes from Nancy (of Nancy Merrill Photography) and Frédéric (of the Daily Post) are respectively Signs and Dialogue.

Combined, these two themes got me thinking about how signs tell a story. They speak to us. They’re informative.

And often amusing.

I love humorous signs. Especially when they’re not meant to be.

Rich has taken dozens of photos of a signs that have tickled his sense of humour over the years. Unfortunately, most of them are buried in his tens of thousands of photographs, both digital and film. One day I’ll have to take the time to sort them out. I think they’d make a good blog post.

But for today, one sign in particular sprang to mind when I saw that Ailsa (of Where’s My Backpack?) had chosen Edge as her word of the week.

Last month, I described how we found the Grand Canyon full of smoke when we visited its North Rim in November, 2011. What I didn’t reveal in my previous post was that as we stood at the edge of this mile-deep slash in the Earth’s surface, we discovered one of the most random and unnecessary signs it’s ever been my pleasure to see:

It's a good job they warned us, otherwise we might not have noticed the enormous hole in the ground otherwise known as the Grand Canyon

It’s a good job they warned us, otherwise we might not have noticed the enormous hole in the ground, otherwise known as the Grand Canyon

If you have any photos of humorous or daft signs, please feel free to post them on my Facebook page. Perhaps I can do a follow-up blog of the best ones!

Sue demonstrating just how redundant this sign is

Sue demonstrating just how redundant this sign is

While you’re contemplating the uselessness of this sign, why not sign up and follow my continuing Journeys here at Jaspa’s Journal, or through my websiteFacebook, Twitter and Instagram?

And if that’s not enough for you, there are now three Jaspa’s Journey novels to enjoy as ebooks! Perfect for Kids 8 – 80!

Jaspa's Journey Logo (Bigger Bucket)

About Jaspa

Jaspa's Journey is a series of award-winning, travel-based adventure novels for strong middle grade readers by Rich Meyrick. Join the Adventure! Read the books! Follow Jaspa’s ongoing Journeys at www.jaspasjourney.com. Let's explore this amazing world together! And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Adventure, Jaspa's Journey, Photography, Travel, USA and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Most Redundant Sign In The World?

  1. It’s sad but true that these signs are necessary. Children’s Halloween costumes have warning labels that wearing a Superman costume will not enable the wearer to fly. Thanks for joining the challenge!

  2. ha. How many caution signs would they need???

  3. Elizabeth says:

    We are always atracted by the forbidden!

  4. Wow – that’s a little random!

  5. Pingback: Winter – In the Places I Live | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  6. Love the sign – we must protect ourselves from our assumed lack of common sense? LOL I always love the one on the back of the construction trucks that says ‘do not follow.’ Where exactly do they expect us to drive if not on the road. 🙂

  7. My favourite used to be at the entrance to the cemetery here in St. George: Enter at your own risk.

  8. Pingback: Offence vs. Defence | Wired With Words

  9. Diana says:

    that sign appears to me to be absolutely necessary. If you look below the sign, there is a gash in the walkway — the sign is actually suspended above it — which means that people looking at that awesome huge hole behind the fence may miss the gash below their feet, and end up sliding down the slopes/cliffs into the canyon themselves. Nothing redundant about that sign at all 🙂

    • Jaspa says:

      Thanks for your observation, Diane. Perhaps you’re right, although to be honest, I think the sign was put there as a joke. If you look closely, it’s actually a sign to warn people when the floor is wet in something like a bathroom or a store. Also, given that the Grand Canyon is 277 miles long (not including all the ins and outs of the actual rim edge) and most of its rim doesn’t have barriers like at this location, they’d need an awful lot of these signs to cover the entire length.

  10. Diana says:

    it may have been as a joke, but from my experience (the office I work in is in a mall) there have been many times I’ve encountered hazzards and have grabbed whatever I could find to warn people, so this could have been the closest thing to hand. I’ve been to the Grand Canyon, and have been really close to the edge — and know that most (even in the really busy touristy areas) is not fenced at all. Made me a bit nervous so I stayed a few feet away from the edge. Where there were fences I was really comfortable going right up to the fence — and didn’t feel a need to keep track of my feet the same way I did when there was no fence. My guess is that the sign is to help people at that point watch their feet. However, it may just as easily have been a joke, and it does make for a pretty funny picture.

  11. mukhamani says:

    When we see such signs, we smile and wonder:))

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.