The Red Bull Air Race

As you may know, I love planes. And I also love motor racing. So what could be better than an aeroplane race?

Not much, in my book!

IMG_0804The Red Bull Air Race World Championship is a series of races the take place at venues around the world. The concept is pretty simple. Flying against the clock, the pilots navigate a slalom course between giant inflatable cones called Air Gates, making a pre-defined series of turns and rolls along the way.

IMG_0805At each race, a number of knockout rounds take place against the clock, with the race winner being the fastest of the Final Four. The pilot that accumulates the most points over the season is declared the World Champion.

IMG_0811 IMG_0816I’d been wanting to see a Red Bull Air Race for years. Ever since I first saw one on TV, in fact. And I finally got the chance when the series visited Detroit in 2010.

IMG_0825 IMG_0832 IMG_0834It was amazing to watch these incredibly-skilled pilots throwing their aircraft all over the sky above the Detroit River. I kept thinking, There’s no way they’re going to make it, as they converged on an Air Gate, upside-down, travelling at a ridiculous speed. But they always did, of course.

IMG_0837 IMG_0839 IMG_0844Even as a spectator, the whole event was absolutely breathtaking. I can’t even begin to imagine what it was like for the pilots!

IMG_0850 IMG_0855 IMG_0859The bottom line is, if you love airplanes like me, and you get a chance, don’t pass up an opportunity to attend a Red Bull Air Race. I guarantee you’ll be blown away!

IMG_0863 IMG_0868This post was inspired by the themes Converge from Ben (of The Daily Post) and Above from Ailsa (of Where’s My Backpack?).

IMG_0887 IMG_0948While you’re imagining barrelling through the sky at the controls of a Red Bull Air Race plane, why not sign up and follow my continuing Journeys here at Jaspa’s Journal (on WordPress or Bloglovin’), or through my website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Tumblr?

And if that’s not enough for you, there are now three Jaspa’s Journey novels to enjoy as ebooks! Perfect for Kids 8 – 80!

Jaspa's Journey Logo (Bigger Bucket)

About Jaspa

Jaspa's Journey is a series of award-winning, travel-based adventure novels for strong middle grade readers by Rich Meyrick. Join the Adventure! Read the books! Follow Jaspa’s ongoing Journeys at www.jaspasjourney.com. Let's explore this amazing world together! And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Jaspa's Journey, Photography, The World, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Red Bull Air Race

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Converge | Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Converge | Jinan Daily Photo

  3. goannasnake says:

    Wow. That would have been impressive to watch.

  4. Incredible photos to capture the action – this is something we would like to see with our own eyes but until then, what you have shared has given us the taster 🙂

  5. Pingback: Travel Theme-Above | WoollyMuses

  6. quarksire says:

    One of my FAV VIDS OGF ALL TIME HERE CHECK IT OUT IM SURE YOU WILLlike it 😎
    u musta had a really Kewl time awesome shots jaspa 🙂 ENJOY! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Jaspa says:

      That’s just insane! Especially as I was in Budapest earlier this year, and this course would have been right outside my hotel!

      I would have loved to have been their for the Air Race… although, I did get to see another form of Red Bull winning a different kind of race while I was in Budapest:

      2014 Formula 1 Hungarian Grand Prix

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Gone But Not Forgotten | Jinan Daily Photo

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Gone But Not Forgotten | Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.