The Irresistible Lure of Venice

There’s something about Venice I just can’t get enough of. It keeps pulling me back. Sometimes literally, sometimes through my blog posts.

The classic view of The Doge's Palace and St Mark's Campanile from San Giorgio Maggiore

The classic view of The Doge’s Palace and St Mark’s Campanile from San Giorgio Maggiore

San Giorgio Maggiore from the Doge's Palace (2003)

San Giorgio Maggiore from the Doge’s Palace (2003)

With some friends in St. Mark's Square (2010)

With some friends in St. Mark’s Square (2010)

Some people describe Venice as smelly and overcrowded, but I frankly don’t get it. Surely, the same can be said of all city destinations. Occasionally there are unpleasant odours, of course. And as for the crowds… well it always strikes me as slightly ironic when tourists/travellers (we’re all the same to the locals) complain about there being too many tourists. The bottom line is, if UNESCO have listed Venice and its Lagoon as a World Heritage site, who am I to argue!

A peaceful early morning on the Riva degli Schiavoni, near St Mark’s Square

A peaceful early morning on the Riva degli Schiavoni, near St Mark’s Square

Looking along Rio Priuli o de Santa Sofia, one of the quieter parts of Cannaregio

Looking along Rio Priuli o de Santa Sofia, one of the quieter parts of Cannaregio

I’m lucky enough to have been to the Jewel of the Adriatic three times, most recently August of last year. And I’d move there tomorrow, given half a chance.

Bridge across Rio del Ognissanti

Bridge across Rio del Ognissanti

Squero San Trovaso gondola builders

Squero San Trovaso gondola builders

Dwarfed by the beautifully ornate Scala Contarini del Bovolo (Staircase of the Snail)

Dwarfed by the beautifully ornate Scala Contarini del Bovolo (Staircase of the Snail)

Tiny as I am, and even though its canals are its most famous and charming feature, for me there’s nothing better than pounding the pavements of Venice, exploring its every alley, bridge and courtyard on foot.

Feeling small beside the famous Rialto Bridge

Feeling small beside the famous Rialto Bridge

The central Courtyard of the Doge's Palace, with St. Mark's Basilica beyond

The central Courtyard of the Doge’s Palace, with St. Mark’s Basilica beyond

Anyone would feel tiny down here

Anyone would feel tiny down here

A creepy, attic passage on the Secret Itineraries Tour of the Doge's Palace (look out for a dedicated post at some point in the future)

A creepy, attic passage on the Secret Itineraries Tour of the Doge’s Palace
(look out for a dedicated post at some point in the future)

A friend of mine once implied that if you’ve written a post or two about Venice, any more are just rehashing. But I respectfully disagree. The are so many unique aspects to this matchless city that people dedicate whole blogs to it. And I’m sure I could too, if I lived there. Hint, hint! (Did I mention I’d like to move to Venice, by the way? Oh, I did? Good!)

The Fish Market from the Traghetto Pier (a gondola ferry) across the Grand Canal

The Fish Market from the Traghetto Pier (a gondola ferry) across the Grand Canal

Crossing the Grand Canal by Traghetto

Crossing the Grand Canal by Traghetto

Don't be mean, just because I'm small!

Don’t be mean, just because I’m small!

Resting my feet for a bit by taking a Vaporetto down the Grand Canal

Resting my feet for a bit by taking a Vaporetto down the Grand Canal

On a 'proper' Gondola, somewhere between the Bridge of Sighs and the Rialto (2003)

On a ‘proper’ Gondola, somewhere between the Bridge of Sighs and the Rialto (2003)

To put my money where my mouth is, the fifth instalment of the Jaspa’s Journey series is going to be set in Venice. Its working title is The Ses Collector.

Me and Ernest doing some research for The Ses Collector in the New Prisons of the Doge's Palace

Me and Ernest doing some research for The Ses Collector in the New Prisons of the Doge’s Palace

Note: all the photos in this post were taken during my 2014 visit, unless otherwise stated.

Of all the photos Rich has taken of Venice, this is my favourite (2010)

Of all the photos Rich has taken of Venice, this is my favourite (2010)

This post was inspired by the photo themes Muse from Brie Anne (Daily Post), Tiny from Ailsa (Where’s My Backpack?), Traces of the Past from Paula (Lost in Translation) and, of course, Jo’s Monday Walk.

If you share my love affair with Venice, why not sign up and follow my continuing Journeys here at Jaspa’s Journal (on WordPress or Bloglovin’), or through my website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Tumblr?

And if that’s not enough for you, the first three Jaspa’s Journey novels will soon be available to enjoy, both as ebooks and in paperback! Perfect for Kids 8 – 80!

Jaspa's Journey Logo (Bigger Bucket)

About Jaspa

Star of my own award-winning adventure novels, Jaspa's Journey. Geocaching addict & F1 fan. Adventure Journeyer & blogger extraordinaire. Check out my website: www.jaspasjourney.com And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Europe, History, Jaspa's Journey, Photography, Travel, UNESCO World Heritage Site and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Irresistible Lure of Venice

  1. Paula says:

    I can see that you keep coming back 🙂 I was there last this past March. What a beautiful post, Jaspa. Perfect for the theme. Thank you!

  2. Pingback: Thursday’s Special: Traces of the Past 02 | Lost in Translation

  3. restlessjo says:

    I could live there too. Wonderful to wander those lesser known alleyways and escape the crowds. You always can! Thanks for the link, Jaspa. 🙂

  4. Irresistible, Indeed, Jaspa. What fun! Makes me want to re-read all my Donna Leon books.

    janet

  5. Pingback: Muse : The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge - Sylvain LANDRY

  6. Pingback: Muse | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  7. Pingback: Travel Theme-Tiny | WoollyMuses

  8. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Finchale Priory | restlessjo

  9. Anabel Marsh says:

    Shamefully, I must confess I have never been to Venice – a treat still in store. We have a 19C carpet factory (now a business centre and brewery) in Glasgow which was allegedly modelled on the Doge’s Palace!

    • Jaspa says:

      I hope you make it to Venice one day, Anabel! And your building sounds fascinating… especially since Rich and Sue love their craft beer. Perhaps we’ll come and visit one day!

  10. Pingback: Thrift Story Candy | litadoolan

  11. Pingback: Secret Itineraries Tour, Doge’s Palace, Venice | Jaspa's Journal

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

