Chile Dogs

I first had the idea to write a blog about stray dogs while visiting the Chilean port town and UNESCO World Heritage Site of Valparaiso last year.

DSC_3542In fact, we even spent our last morning there going around taking photos of many a homeless hound for just that purpose. But then Rich’s camera got stolen during lunch that same day, and it seemed the idea would have to be shelved.

DSC_3375Happily, we got another shot at it (no pun intended) this year, when we returned to South America. Even better, I was able to expand the concept to take in several other Chilean cities (although Valparaiso still had my most-loved mutts).

DSC_3474The incredible number of stray dogs you come across wherever you go in Chile is clearly a country-wide problem. That being said, during our most recent trip, we leaned that not all the strays are uncared for, unwanted or unloved.

DSC_3512Apparently, owning a pet dog in Chile is a luxury most people can’t afford. As a result, many of the strays are sort of adopted by an unspoken local committee. People will often feed them as if they were there own pets, but on a part-time basis, when they are able. The rest of the time, they rely on other people in the neighbourhood doing likewise. Happily, this means that a surprising number of the strays are actually reasonably well fed.

A waiter in Valparaiso takes time out to say Hi to his friends

A waiter in Valparaiso takes time out to say Hi to his friends

Originally, I was going to call this post The Dogs of Valparaiso, or something like that. I have to admit to laughing out loud to myself when I came up with the name Chile Dogs! I hope you like it too!

Santiago

Laying claim to his heritage on Cerro Santa Lucia

Laying claim to his heritage on Cerro Santa Lucia

We met this cute little guy up on Cerro San Cristobal

We met this cute little guy up on Cerro San Cristobal

Vicuña

Gotta get home

Gotta get home

Town meeting

Town meeting

Time to do the grocery shopping

Time to do the grocery shopping

Dust bath

Dust bath

Always happy to make new friends

Always happy to make new friends

Coyhaique

Quick rest...

Quick rest…

...Before work

…Before heading off to work

Hanging out at Cascada de La Virgen (Falls of the Virgin)

Hanging out at Cascada de La Virgen (Falls of the Virgin)

Can I come?

Can I come?

Puerto Montt

Welcome to Puerto Montt!

Welcome to Puerto Montt!

Coming through!

Coming through!

Even the statues have dogs in Puerto Montt

Even the statues have dogs in Puerto Montt

Sunbathing in Puerto Varas

Sunbathing in Puerto Varas

OK, so these guys aren't strays... but the one in the foreground was having such fun I couldn't leave him out!

OK, so these guys aren’t strays… but the one in the foreground was having such fun I couldn’t leave him out!

Punta Arenas

Guarding Magellan

Guarding Magellan

I could really do with a brush

I could really do with a brush

I'm saving this for later

I’m saving this for later

Valparaiso

Now that looks comfortable!

Now that looks comfortable!

Guarding the bridge to the Ascensor Polanco

Guarding the bridge to the Ascensor Polanco

'Ole Blue Eyes

‘Ole Blue Eyes

Music lover

Music lover

I could go a bath

I could go a bath

You need me as a...

You need me as a…

...Greeter?

…Restaurant greeter?

The dog house

The dog house

Got places to be

Got places to be

I need a nap

I need a nap

Yeah, me too

Yeah, me too

Did some say nap?

Did someone say nap?

What a cutie

What a cutie

Dog at work

Dog at work

Cool cat...er...dog!

Cool cat…er…dog!

Wanna play?

Wanna play?

Can I help you?

Can I help you?

Best view in Valparaiso

Best view in Valparaiso

They locked me out!

They locked me out!

I'll be right with you

I’ll be right with you

Play time!!

Play time!!

It's my toy, go find your own!

It’s my toy, go find your own!

Buddies

Buddies

Shaggy dog story

Shaggy dog story

Need... A... Scraaatch!

Need… A… Scraaatch!

There must be something good in here

There must be something good in here

Lovin' the shade

Lovin’ the shade

Off to work, too

Off to work, too

Who needs pillows?

Who needs pillows?

Awwww!

Awwww!

Wanna share?

Wanna share?

Indoor / outdoor pups

Indoor / outdoor pups

How badly do you want to come up these stairs?

How badly do you want to come up these stairs?

It wouldn't be Valparaiso without a dog in the photo

It wouldn’t be Valparaiso without a dog in the photo

This post was inspired by the photo theme of Pets from Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge.

Yin and Yang

Yin and Yang

If you’re the sort of person that loves to experience local wildlife(!) on your travels, why not sign up and follow my continuing Journeys here at Jaspa’s Journal (on WordPress or Bloglovin’), or through my website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Tumblr?

DSC_4107And if that’s not enough for you, the first Jaspa’s Journey adventure, The Great Migration, is now available in both paperback and ebook formats from Amazon and other online booksellers! The first two sequels are scheduled to be released by Speaking Volumes later this year.

Jaspa’s Journey: Perfect for Kids 8 – 80!

 

About Jaspa

Jaspa's Journey is a series of award-winning, travel-based adventure novels for strong middle grade readers by Rich Meyrick. Join the Adventure! Read the books! Follow Jaspa’s ongoing Journeys at www.jaspasjourney.com. Let's explore this amazing world together! And don’t forget to download the books and see what the buzz is all about!
This entry was posted in Jaspa's Journey, Photography, South America, Travel, UNESCO World Heritage Site and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Chile Dogs

  1. Jude says:

    What a lovely post, wonderful pictures, and how nice to know that these dogs are looked after by people in a way – when they can afford to do it. Many of them did look quite healthy.

    • Jaspa says:

      Some of them admittedly looked a bit thin and unkempt, Jude, but for the most part they did seem remarkably well fed, as you say.

  2. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge-Pets – WoollyMuses

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    I so agree perfect for kids from 8 to 80. You got some real adorable photos. Thanks for playing.

  4. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Single Flowers or Bud | Cee's Photography

  5. Cee Neuner says:

    Congratulations! I have chosen this post to be featured on Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge.

    Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Single Flowers or Bud


    I sure hope you have a fabulous week. 😀

  6. Lynne Ayers says:

    Great title and good to hear they are not all uncared for. I also noticed the large number of stray dogs when I was there and it breaks my heart.

  7. loisajay says:

    This is the most wonderful post! Sad to see so many dogs outside but lovely if everyone helps take care of them. Congrats on being featured by Cee–so very well deserved.

    • Jaspa says:

      Thanks Lois! I’m sure that more could be done for the dogs… clearly neutering would help the problem… but at least some of them are cared for in some way.

  8. Pingback: Cee’s Weekly Wrap May 14, 2016 and DP Weekly Photo Challenge: Faces | Cee's Photography

  9. This just broke my heart.

  10. litadoolan says:

    It’s a dogs life ! I love the sunbathing 😉

  11. jpeggytaylor says:

    Ahh, so sad that there are so many stray dogs there. But good to hear that some folk care for them. (Glad they aren’t being hounded 😉 )

  12. Pingback: The Funiculars of Valparaiso, Chile | Jaspa's Journal

  13. Ohh, if I ever get there, I won’t be able to concentrate on anything else. I can’t see a dog suffering or even mildly inconvenienced. I’d wish to make them all happy at all times.

I'd love to hear what you've got to say!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.